Rearview mirror.

I’m one of those people that, while completely un-gifted in the music/rhthym/tone department, has a great appreciation for music.  I love music, most music.  I associate songs and bands with different people, different times of my life, different meanings than the artists themselves intended, I’m sure.  I can look back at a time in my life, and know what was playing on the radio/tape deck/CD player/computer and how I felt and who I was with.   It’s a little flashback into my past. 

And then this morning, taking the girls to school, listening to the radio, a favorite song from way back when bursts on.  I immediately start singing along, doing a little car-dance-wiggle behind the wheel.  I love this song so much. 

I look back to my little big girl, who’s still rear-facing in her carseat and has to use a mirror to look to the front seat, and she’s bopping right along with me.  By the end of the song, she’d figured out some of the words and was very proud of herself.  And my heart swelled, and made me love this song even more than I already do, if that’s even possible.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fun

Leave a Reply

