It is a love based on giving and receiving, as well as having and sharing. ~the brilliant Mr. Tribbiani

I’m talking about the love women have for sharing their birth stories and tales from the delivery room.  There is something innate about a woman’s need to share her labor and delivery experiences with other women.  It is as natural and necessary as little girls chasing little boys around the swing set, telling someone to smell something gross, or looking both ways before crossing College Ave. (IT’S A ONE WAY – JUST CROSS).

I am so guilty of this.  And especially since I’ve had a captive audience to enthrall with my tales for about a year now.  By captive audience, I don’t mean interested, I mean that I’ve held them against their will to talk about birthing.  I’m lucky enough that I’ve had two pretty normal, non-traumatic experiences and I’ve regaled my sister and cousin with these fables for months and months.  We’ve talked about birth plans, medicated vs. un-medicated, unexpected turns of fate – you name it.

But you know, I love it.  I LOVE listening to women share these stories – if you think of it – it’s the same result achieved in a thousand different ways.  Nobody has the same experience.  The goal is always a healthy baby, a healthy mama – by whatever means necessary.  I’ve heard from relatives and friends and people I work with and people my husband works with and random ladies at Wegman’s.  It’s amazing and cathartic and something only women understand.

Recently, I met the newest little member of my family, a gorgeous and intelligent and pensive little angel.  And as I hugged and kissed that angel’s Mama – my first words were – “Tell me EVERYTHING!”

We’re less than two weeks away from the birth of my sister’s baby (9 days if I’m winning the baby-pool) and I can’t wait to walk into that room to meet my niece or nephew (niece if I’m winning the baby-pool).  And I can’t wait to sit down with my sister once her head has cleared and let her tell me her story.  It will be amazing and perfect, just like yours, just like mine – but it will be hers.  Welcome to the club K.   Because in the end, it’s about “…the love that they give and have that is shared and received. And through this having and giving and sharing and receiving, we too can share and love and have and receive.”

And because it’s all about me anyway…

The sweet smell of her head...

I knew her the minute I saw her...

1 Comment

Filed under Fun, Sisters

One response to “It is a love based on giving and receiving, as well as having and sharing. ~the brilliant Mr. Tribbiani

  1. kathryn talone

    Almost cried. Damn hormones.

Leave a Reply

