Up all night long.

There comes a time in every Mom’s life when you are faced with a sick baby.  Dude, it sucks so bad.

I scripted this whole post in my head at 3am on Tuesday morning while I was pacing the hallway with a baby with a double ear infection, a monster fever, teething gums, and a slimy nose.  I was going to offer support and survival tips, and tell my new-mommy-friends to hang in there.  That we’ve all been there.  That the hours seem so long when you’re living them, awake in the middle of the night, alone with a baby.

I woke up to a Sickie McSikerton screaming like a crazy person, totally inconsolable, at 3am.  She refused the offer to lay down with Mommy, she refused the notion of the rocking chair.  The only thing that I could do was jostle her just so, the way that only I can, and pace up and down the hallway, until she drifted off to sleep.

Hours.

I know that they outgrow these sick nights, I know that it is only one night out of a thousand, I know that deep down there’s a part of me that secretly loves holding them so close so that I can smell their sweat and tears and baby smell.

But when it’s 3am, all I can really say is that it sucks so bad.

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby

Leave a Reply

